The United States and the European Union announced a new round of sanctions against Russia

On the first anniversary of the outbreak of the Russian-Ukrainian conflict, the United States and the European Union announced a new round of sanctions against Russia.

On February 24, local time, the US Treasury Department issued a statement on the same day saying that sanctions will be imposed on 22 individuals and 83 entities that support Russia and Russia. Sanctions target the Russian metals and mining industry, financial institutions, the military industry chain, and individuals and entities that help Russia circumvent sanctions. Particular attention is paid to the sanctions imposed on many Russian financial institutions such as banks, insurance, wealth management companies, etc.; For example, the Moscow Credit Bank, which was originally included in the SSI list, was added to the SDN list (the bank has been removed from the SWIFT system).


U.S. Treasury Secretary Yellen said in a statement that U.S. sanctions against Russia will make it difficult for Russia to replenish weapons and hit its economy hard. Yellen also said that the sanctions on the day showed that the United States will always firmly support Ukraine as long as the Russian-Ukrainian conflict continues. The US State Department also announced on the same day that it will provide another $10 billion in aid to Ukraine to support the Ukrainian government and people.

According to the U.S. Department of the Treasury, the assets of sanctioned targets in the United States will be frozen, and U.S. citizens will not be allowed to trade with them.

On the same day, the White House also announced that it would impose tariffs on more than 100 metals, minerals and chemicals in Russia, with a total value of about $2.8 billion. The U.S. State Department announced that it will impose visa restrictions on 1,219 Russian military personnel. The U.S. Department of Commerce announced restrictions on exports to Russia, Belarus and Iran.


U.S. Secretary of State Antony Blinken said that the economic sanctions, export controls and tariffs imposed on Russia are jointly implemented with the Group of Seven (G7), and the United States will continue to work with its allies to put pressure on Russia.

At the same time, the EU’s new sanctions were only passed on the evening of the 24th local time. When European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen visited Kiev earlier, he promised Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky that the tenth round of sanctions would be imposed before the first anniversary of the Russian-Ukrainian conflict.

Citing diplomatic sources, AFP said the main reason for the delay in EU sanctions was the disagreement among some member states. Poland, for example, wants a complete ban on imports of synthetic rubber from Russia, while Italy tends to extend the transition period to give its manufacturers more time to find new suppliers. In the end, the European Commission compromised the quota limit on Russian imports of synthetic rubber at 560,000 tons.


The tenth round of sanctions, in addition to stricter restrictions on exports of dual-use goods and technologies, the tenth round of sanctions also imposes targeted restrictions on individuals and entities that support war, spread propaganda and transport drones for Russia to use on the battlefield, as well as measures against Russian disinformation, said Sweden, the rotating presidency of the EU Council.

Post time: Feb-28-2023